Marcel Giró


Foto Cine Clube Bandeirante:
Global itineraries, aesthetics in transformation

Almeida & Dale
Curatorship: Iatã Cannabrava and José Antonio Navarrete
Openning: 01.29.2022 — saturday 11am to 4pm

This exhibition highlights the apotheosis of modernist photography and also focuses on the artistic output of the FCCB (Foto Cine Clube Bandeirante) during the 60s and 70s, includes photos from collections held by a number of different institutions, such as Itaú Cultural and Foto Cine Clube Bandeirante, as well as from private collections. “We believe the exhibition will further disseminate the output of the photo-club members, along with the group of artists and works, today known as the Paulista School of Brazilian modernist photography and recently featured in an exhibition at the MoMA in NY”, stated Iatã Cannabrava.

“The FCCB was a highly active organization with an intense artistic dynamic that underwent numerous esthetic transformations in the production of its photographs during its first 40 years. The FCCB raised Brazilian photography to a reflective level and thereafter it was no longer possible to do photography without thinking photography”, reflected the curators. “They represent the growth in the modernizing spirit of the Modern Art Week of 1922, a contribution pivotal to the modernization of Brazilian photography, projecting it as a collective art project from Brazil to the World”.

Foto Cine Clube Bandeirante: Global itineraries, aesthetics in transformation, which presents work spanning from 1940 to 1980 and includes 137 photographs by 40 artists, together with newsletters and catalogues.

Ademar Manarini, Aldo A. de Souza Lima, Alvaro Macedo Jr, Angelo Francisco Nutti, Antonio S. Victor, Barbara Mors, Camilo Joan, Cesar Anderáos, Chico Albuquerque, Eduardo Salvatore, Euclides Machado, Frederico Mielenhausen, Galliano Calliera, Gaspar Gasparian, Geraldo de Barros, German Lorca, Gertrudes Altschul, Herros Cappello, Ivo Ferreira da Silva, Jacob Polacow, Jerzy Reichmann, João B. Nave Filho, João Minharro, José Antonio Vergareche, José Oiticica Filho, José Yalenti, Madalena Schwartz, Marcel Giró, Nelson de Souza Rodrigues, Paulo Pires da Silva, Plinio S. Mendes, Raul Eitelberg, Roberto Marconato, Roberto Yoshida, Rubens Teixeira Scavone, Sergio Trevellin, Takashi Kumagai, Thomaz Farkas, Victorio Micheletti e Waldemiro Moretti.